Beginning the Trip to Oxford

I’ve been keeping a travel journal of my trip to England, but I’ve been a bit slow in transferring my words from journal to computer. I’ve been a bit busy having an awesome time. But here’s a beginning about the beginning of my travels.

28 May 2012

My journey begins today. I would like to say the day began with my being very sophisticated and elegant. I would like to imagine myself as the happily-single equivalent of the confident bride on her wedding day. I see her waking up, saying “today is the day,” and proceeding to sing a happy ditty with the accompaniment of bird song. I woke up at 2:30 am. No one is elegant at 2:30 am.

There is no bird song that early. Instead, I arose because of the forceful sound of my cell phone alarm. Once grumpily awake, I allowed myself a few minutes of concern as I tried to identify the ubiquitous forgotten something. I’m still not sure what it is, but I’m sure it will rear its ugly dragon-like head soon enough.

Now, I’m sitting outside my gate. It won’t even open for 15 minutes, but I’m rather new at all of this, and the idea of missing a plane is simply too horrible. Yes, a blogger without sleep is a very dramatic blogger.

I felt very sophisticated walking to my gate. I knew where I was going (the Detroit airport has very large signs), so I acted like the teenage girl in a travel movie. I strutted down the airport hall, comfortably looking around as if I found all of it old hat. I’m sure there was upbeat confidence-boosting pop music to accompany me.

My imagination must be powerful, as my sweatpants and mussed hair are a far cry from a fabulous movie star. I’m ok with that.

Everyone has been asking me how I feel about the trip. Am I nervous? Excited? What do I expect? The best answer I have is “I don’t know.” It’s like when I went to college for the first time. I didn’t know what to expect. I was vaguely excited at the prospect of doing something new, but I had no idea what the new thing would actually be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment